Landlord Gas Safety Inspections

Home/Brighton Plumbing, Gas Safe, Uncategorized/Landlord Gas Safety Inspections

Landlord Gas Safety Inspections

If you’re a landlord you’ll probably be aware of the law surrounding gas safety inspections. If you rent out a property that has  gas central heating or other gas appliance then you have to get a gas safety inspection every twelve months by law. It’s a vital service that we’re happy to provide to landlords and other property owners in the Brighton area. On average, we’re the cheapest plumbers in Brighton for this service.

The law makes gas safety inspections a necessity for rented properties, but they are also a good idea for homeowners too. Although gas safety problems are rare, they do occasionally crop up, and it’s always good to have the peace of mind that your house is safe.

Our Inspections

Our gas inspections are incredibly thorough. We’ll check every single aspect of the system. If there is a point where safety problems can occur, we’ll find it.  We’ll check the entire system for gas tightness, check the pressure/gas rate, ventilation and flue flow, physical stability, unsafe operation and more.

We don’t just check boilers and central heating systems; we’ll check every gas appliance, including fireplaces, ovens and hobs. We’ll also check peripheral parts of the system like the pipe work.

We have a deep understanding of manufacturers specifications across thousands of different types of gas appliances. One of the major reasons for gas safety problems is when appliances are installed or used with a disregard to these recommendations. We’ll ensure that every appliance in your property has been installed correctly and is being used just as it should be.

Certification

Once the inspection is complete, we will issue you with a gas safety certificate by email. This will prove that your property has been certified gas safe for the next twelve months. You should keep this certificate safe, as the authorities, as well as new tenants, may demand to see it.

Gas Safe Registration

Only registered Gas Safe engineers are certified to work on gas appliances. This certification is absolutely vital for the safety of our customers. Gas appliances are complex and intricate machines. Our Gas Safe registration is your assurance that our engineers are qualified not only to safely service gas appliances, but also to thoroughly check for safety problems. As you might expect, only registered Gas Safe engineers can issue a gas safety certificate for your property.

Customer Service

We understand that your time is valuable, whether you’re a landlord or a homeowner. That’s why we offer flexible appointments.  That means flexible for you, not for us. Unlike many other Brighton plumbers, we don’t just offer “morning” or “evening” appointments. You will always know exactly when our engineers are coming to inspect your property, and punctuality is extremely important to us.

Schedule an Inspection Today!

Our gas safety inspections cost just £20 (plus VAT) when you also have a boiler service. This is an incredibly competitive rate that is unmatched by any other plumbers in Brighton. Get in touch with us today to schedule an appointment.

By | 2017-04-13T19:20:18+00:00 September 18th, 2013|Brighton Plumbing, Gas Safe, Uncategorized|10 Comments

About the Author:

10 Comments

  1. Connor Quinn September 22, 2014 at 1:08 pm - Reply

    What are a landlords responsibilities regarding gas safety inspections?

    • Elliott Raggio September 22, 2014 at 1:15 pm - Reply

      As a landlord, you are responsible for the safety of your tenants. Landlords’ duties apply to a wide range of accommodation, occupied under a lease or licence, which includes, but not exclusively:

      residential premises provided for rent by local authorities, housing associations, private sector landlords, housing co-operatives, hostels
      rooms let in bed-sit accommodation, private households, bed and breakfast accommodation and hotels
      rented holiday accommodation such as chalets, cottages, flats, caravans and narrow boats on inland waterways.

      The Gas Safety (Installation and Use) Regulations 1998 deal with landlords’ duties to make sure gas appliances, fittings and flues provided for tenants are safe.
      Landlord’s responsibilities

      If you let a property equipped with gas appliances you have three main responsibilities:

      Maintenance: pipework, appliances and flues must be maintained in a safe condition. Gas appliances should be serviced in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions. If these are not available it is recommended that they are serviced annually unless advised otherwise by a Gas Safe registered engineer.
      Gas safety checks: a 12 monthly gas safety check must be carried out on every gas appliance/flue. A gas safety check will make sure gas fittings and appliances are safe to use.
      Record: a record of the annual gas safety check must be provided to your tenant within 28 days of the check being completed or to new tenants before they move in. Landlords must keep copies of the gas safety record for two years.

      All installation, maintenance and safety checks need to be carried out by a Gas Safe registered engineer.

      If a tenant has their own gas appliance that you have not provided, then you are responsible for the maintenance of the gas pipework but not for the actual appliance.

      You should also make sure your tenants know where to turn off the gas and what to do in the event of a gas emergency.

  2. Niamh Hargreaves September 23, 2014 at 4:24 pm - Reply

    Why are Gas Safety checks required annually, it seems like a waste of money?

    • Elliott Raggio September 23, 2014 at 4:28 pm - Reply

      Every year, landlords are conned by illegal gas workers who perform poor
      gas
      work, causing serious illness and death of tenants. And if it’s your
      property, it’s your responsibility. The maintain standards Landlords
      are required by law to have appliances, pipes and boilers inspected by a
      qualified GAS SAFE engineer.

  3. Charles Myers September 24, 2014 at 2:25 pm - Reply

    What does Plumbing on tap do during gas inspections?

    • Elliott Raggio September 24, 2014 at 2:32 pm - Reply

      Our gas inspections are incredibly thorough. We’ll check every single aspect of the system. If there is a point where safety problems can occur, we’ll find it. We’ll check the entire system for gas tightness, check the pressure/gas rate, ventilation and flue flow, physical stability, unsafe operation and more.

      We don’t just check boilers and central heating systems; we’ll check every gas appliance, including fireplaces, ovens and hobs. We’ll also check peripheral parts of the system like the pipe work.

  4. Corey Akhtar September 25, 2014 at 4:44 pm - Reply

    As a landlord, how do I get a gas safety certificate?

    • Elliott Raggio September 25, 2014 at 5:00 pm - Reply

      Once the inspection is
      complete, we will issue you with a gas safety certificate. This will
      prove that your property has been certified gas safe for the next twelve
      months. You should keep this certificate safe, as the authorities, as well as
      new tenants, may demand to see it.

  5. Charles Lord September 26, 2014 at 6:47 am - Reply

    Who’s qualified to perform a gas safety inspection?

    • Elliott Raggio September 26, 2014 at 6:53 am - Reply

      Registered Gas Safe engineers ONLY. This certification is absolutely vital
      for the safety of our customers. Gas appliances are complex and intricate
      machines. Our Gas Safe registration is your assurance that our engineers are
      qualified not only to safely service gas appliances, but also to thoroughly
      check for safety problems. As you might expect, only registered Gas Safe
      engineers can issue a gas safety certificate for your property.

Leave A Comment